Band Profile

East Brunswick All Girls Choir

Melbourne quartet East Brunswick All Girls Choir are releasing their long-awaited second album in June 2018 through Courtney Barnett and Jen Cloher’s Milk! Records.

Teddywaddy is the band’s most profound and riotous statement, focusing the seasoned intensity of singer/guitarist Marcus Hobbs, bassist/keyboardist Rie Nakayama, guitarist Rob Wrigley and drummer Jen Sholakis. Named after a slumbering patch of country 90 minutes from Bendigo, Teddywaddy was recorded with rising producer Anna Laverty (Courtney Barnett, The Peep Tempel). It follows 2014’s Australian Music Prize-longlisted Seven Drummers and 2009’s mini-LP Dead Air, plus support duties for The Peep Tempel, Gold Class and Cash Savage & The Last Drinks.

EBAGC have sojourned in Berlin and toured Asia but always circled back to Victoria, with Hobbs dropping wry geographical pins throughout his detailed songwriting. Spanning both smouldering studies of isolation and open-air eruptions of catharsis, Teddywaddy revels in such whiplashing contrasts. For every spacious swath of majesty, there’s some punked-up exorcism to fray the nerves and throttle the senses.
Released in April 2014, Seven Drummers was long-listed for the Australian Music Prize. It was also voted ninth in the Mess and Noise audience poll for ‘Best Album of 2014’

Marcus, Rie, Rob, Jen.

Posts on East Brunswick All Girls Choir